

ACTION ALERT

June 29-July 6, 2007

SECURE SUSTAINABLE AGRICULTURE POLICIES IN THE 2007 FARM BILL!!!

URGE MEMBERS OF THE HOUSE AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE TO CO-SPONSOR AND SUPPORT AMENDMENTS DURING FULL COMMITTEE MARKUP

The full House Agriculture Committee is scheduled to amend and vote on the farm bill the week of July 16th. Between now and when they meet to markup, urge members of the House Agriculture Committee to support amendments that promote land stewardship, beginning farmers, organic research, and farmers' markets/local food systems. These amendments must be included in House Agriculture Chairman Peterson's 'real'* farm bill proposal in order for them to receive real funding in the final version of the bill.

PLEASE CALL OR FAX IMMEDIATELY

It is easy to call or write. Please call your Representative's office (see list of Representatives and their contact information below) and ask for their aid that works on agriculture. If the agriculture aid is unavailable, leave a message with your name, phone number and the message below on the aid's voice mail or with the receptionist.

If you prefer to write, fax a brief letter with the points below, along with you name and address and contact information.

^{*} The Chairman of the House Agriculture Committee, Collin Peterson (D-MN) announced June 29th that he will present two farm bills to the House Agriculture Committee: a "real" bill that is completely funded and a "reserve" bill with programs that will only be funded in the event that offsets are found. Amendments must be included in the "real" farm bill, with real money, for programs to meaningfully support family farm viability, healthy communities, local food systems, and successful rural economies.

The message is simple. I am a constituent (or resident of the state the Congressman/woman represents) and I am calling to urge Representative _______ to co-sponsor and stand up and express their support for the following amendments during the full House Agriculture Committee markup:

- Support for beginning farmers and ranchers:
 - \$25 million in annual mandatory funding for the Beginning Farmer and Rancher Development Program (amendment to be introduced by Rep. Tim Walz, D-MN)
 - Conservation Reserve Program Farm Transition (amendment to be introduced by Rep. Tim Walz, D-MN and estimated to cost \$16 million over the length of the farm bill)
- Incentives for superior conservation systems on land in agricultural production:
 - \$1 billion in additional mandatory funding for the Conservation Security Program (to be introduced by Rep. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-NY)
- Support for regional agricultural economies and local food systems:
 - \$25 million in annual mandatory funding for the Farmers Market Promotion Program (to be introduced by Rep. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-NY)
 - \$30 million in annual mandatory funding for Community Food Project Grants (not certain of sponsor yet)
- Assistance for farmers' and ranchers' transition to organic production and for research that supports organic and sustainable agriculture systems:
 - o \$50 million in annual mandatory funding for the Organic Conversion program (amendment to be introduced by Rep. Kirsten Gillibrand, D-NY)
 - \$15 million in annual mandatory funding for the Organic Farming Research and Extension Initiative (not certain of sponsor yet)

To download more information about these programs, please visit the following links:

Beginning Farmer and Rancher Initiative

Conservation Security Program

Farmers Market Promotion Program and Community Food Projects

Organic Provision and Sustainable Agriculture Research

110th CONGRESS: HOUSE AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE Democrats

Representative	Staff	Phone	FAX
Collin Peterson (MN-7),	Robin Goracke	202-225-2165	202-225-1593
Chair			
Tim Holden (PA-17)	Liz Hermsen	202-225-5546	202-226-0996
Mike McIntyre (NC-7)	Kim Sega	202-225-2731	202-225-5773
Bob Etheridge (NC-2)	Benjamin Bell	202-225-4531	202-225-5662
Leonard Boswell (IA-3)	Alexis Taylor	202-225-3806	202-225-5608
Joe Baca (CA-43)	Yooli Choi	202-225-6161	202-225-8671
Dennis Cardoza (CA-18)	Anne Cannon	202-225-6131	202-225-0819
David Scott (GA-13)	Gary Woodward	202-225-2939	202-225-4628
Jim Marshall (GA-8)	Bradley Edgell	202-225-6531	202-225-3013
Stephanie Herseth (SD-at	Ryan Stroschein	202-225-2801	202-225-5823
large)			
Henry Cuellar (TX-28)	Keith Jones	202-225-1640	202-225-1641
Jim Costa (CA-20)	Jacqlyn Schneider	202-225-3341	202-225-9308
John Salazar (CO-3)	Tate Rosenbusch	202-225-4761	202-226-9669
Brad Ellsworth (IN-8)	Jed D'Ercole	202-225-4636	202-225-3284
Nancy Boyda (KS-2)	Shana Guinn	202-225-6601	202-225-7986
Zack Space (OH-18)	Aaron Schmidt	202-225-6265	202-225-3394
Tim Walz (MN-1)	Jeremy Bratt	202-225-2472	202-225-3433
Kirsten Gillibrand (NY-20)	Brooke Jamison	202-225-5614	202-225-1168
Steve Kagen (WI-8)	Mark Cason	202-225-5665	202-225-5729
Earl Pomeroy (ND-at large)	Rebecca Blue	202-225-2611	202-226-0893
Lincoln Davis (TN-4)	Noel Smith	202-225-6831	202-226-5172
John Barrow (GA-12)	Chris Schepis	202-225-2823	202-225-3377
Nick Lampson (TX-22)	Carlyle Chess	202-225-5951	202-225-5241
Joe Donnelly (IN-2)	Andrew Lattanner	202-225-3915	202-225-6798
Tim Mahoney (FL-16)	Patrick Givens	202-225-5792	202-225-3132

110th CONGRESS: HOUSE AGRICULTURE COMMITTEE Republicans

Representative	Staff	Phone	Fax
Bob Goodlatte (VA-6),	Branden Ritchie	202-225-5431	202-225-9681
Ranking Member	(LD)		
Terry Everett (AL-2)	James Wallner	202-225-2901	202-225-8913
Frank Lucas (OK-3)	Nicole Scott	202-225-5565	202-225-8698
Jerry Moran (KS-1)	Aaron Popelka	202-225-2715	202-225-5124
Robin Hayes (NC-8)	Tommy Sevier	202-225-3715	202-225-4036
Timothy Johnson (IL-15)	Bobby Frederick	202-225-2371	202-226-0791
Sam Graves (MO-6)	Seth Appleton	202-225-7041	202-225-8221
Jo Bonner (AL-1)	Watson Donald	202-225-4931	202-225-0562
Mike Rogers (AL-3)	Whitney Verett	202-225-3261	202-226-8485
Steve King (IA-5)	Brent Boydston	202-225-4426	202-225-3193
Marilyn Musgrave (CO-4)	Craig Rushing	202-225-4676	202-225-5870
Randy Neugebauer (TX-19)	Kathy Bergren	202-225-4005	202-225-9615
Charles Boustany Jr. (LA-7)	Michael Hare	202-225-2031	202-225-5724
John "Randy" Kuhl Jr. (NY-	Lauryn Bernier	202-225-3161	202-226-6599
29)			
Virginia Foxx (NC-5)	Clark Peterson	202-225-2071	202-225-2995
K. Michael Conaway (TX-	Scott Graves	202-225-3605	202-225-1783
11)			
Jeff Fortenberry (NE-1)	Alan Feyerherm	202-225-4806	202-225-5686
Jean Schmidt (OH-2)	Matt Perin	202-225-3164	202-225-1992
Adrian Smith (NE-3)	Monica Jirik – LD	202-225-6435	202-225-0207
Kevin McCarthy (CA-22)	Shelby Hagenauer	202-225-2915	202-225-2908
Tim Walberg (MI-7)	Matt Mika	202-225-6276	202-225-6281